Skip to content

Seaford Museum

In 1997 the Seaford Historical Society opened a museum to house its ever-growing collection of local artifacts. In 2001, with space in the museum getting tight, we purchased the old US Post Office in downtown Seaford. The 1935 building required extensive renovations, but we were able to open to the public in June 2003. Through continued improvements and the hosting of temporary and traveling exhibits, it is now considered to be one of the best small museums in Delaware!

The Seaford Historical Society was formed in 1972 with the mission to “Preserve, Protect, and Present” our local history. In 1976 we purchased the 19th Century Governor Ross Mansion along with 12 acres of land and several period outbuildings. With donations of funds, time, and material from our local community, local and national foundations, and government entities, the Mansion was restored and furnished with period antiques, some from the Ross family. Over the years the grounds have been expanded and improved with the site becoming a hub for our community.

How To Get There From Here:

203 High Street,
Seaford, DE 19973

The Governor Ross Mansion

The Governor Ross Mansion was purchased by the Seaford Historical Society in 1976, this rare and complete Victorian Italianate mansion, ca. 1860, has been lovingly restored and fully furnished. Step into the Governor Ross Mansion, and step back into time. See the only documented log slave quarter in Delaware.

Gov. Ross Mansion
23669 Ross Station Road
Seaford, DE 19973

Back To Top